self esteem

first of all, i would like to give my gratitude to my sister since shes the one who close to me and decided to give me this particular article via her email that was given to her from her friend in US .. i guess.. i shall give the links as it is other person works so it is compulsory to give the credits to he or she who made it!

-thank you my sis, NorEmilita Nazlina Ghazali-

Let’s discuss self-esteem. Okay, that was possibly the lamest introductory sentence ever, but still. Let’s discuss it. I’m happy to say that aside from those awkward middle school days, I feel as my self-esteem has been at a healthy level. I know when to pat myself on the back, and more importantly, I know when I need slapped in the face. Though lately, when I’m drowning in duties that I mostly created for myself, I often doubt what I’m capable of doing. I sometimes doubt myself.

Truthfully, it’s when I’m either most busy or not busy at all that I find myself questioning who I am or what I am doing. In my humble opinion, questioning yourself is just a part of life. And while I hate to sound like an 80’s movie when I say this, it really can be a bummer.

Really, I think there will always be times in my life, short period of time or long, that I question these sorts of things. In all roles that I hold, wife,mother,daughter,sister,friend, and beholder of awesomeness, it is possible to doubt my own worth. It’s also possible to feel a bit too high on myself.

Either way, I don’t think I’m alone in this. I think most people sometimes get down on themselves. I know I’m not t he first person who has ever woken up one morning, and been all, “what the hell? go back to bed. you suck today.”

Maybe I’m wrong, maybe you love yourself all of the time. Maybe you are perfection and drink liquid awesomeness for breakfast, and if so, who am I to tell you any different? Right or wrong, when I found this Self-Esteem Mad Lib here , I thought it was interesting and helpful:

Face it, (insert your name), you are about the greatest thing since (favorite food). No one else can (verb) like you can. Your best friend says you are the (adjective)-est person in the world. Sure, you once (embarassing thing you did), but you also (honorable thing you did). S0, (favorite endearment), today is the day you’re going to stop beating up on yourself for being (negative adjective) and start loving yourself for being (positive adjective), (positive adjective), and (positive adjective. ANd if people give you a (adjective) time, just tell’em they can take their (noun) and (verb) it up their (body part)!

So, maybe you are down on yourself for something today or maybe you are feeling fabulous about yourself. Either way, I think it’d be fun to fill this out. So if you want, you should fill this out in the comment section with your inserted terms. It’s fun, and hopefully, it’s helpful.

Here’s mine:

“Face it, Taufiq, you are about the greatest thing since Italian Food especially Spaghetti meatballs. No one else can rock it like you can. Your best friend says you are the awesome-est person in the world. Sure, you once busted your ass in your middle school gym walking into school, but you also spend a lot of time on philanthropy(hehe). S0, Pentunia (my new favorite term of endearment), today is the day you’re going to stop beating up on yourself for being forgetful and slightly negligent and start loving yourself for being dedicated, witty, and intelligent. ANd if people give you a rough time, just tell’em they can take their left arm and shove it up their right nose”

try is yourself!

Leave a Reply

